3 UPV-CFOS faculty members get new and retained UP Scientist ranks

3 UPV-CFOS faculty members get new and retained UP Scientist ranks


Two faculty members were added to the roster of UP Scientists from the College of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences, UP Visayas (UPV-CFOS). At the same time, one retained a past appointment for their exceptional works in advancing science and technology. 

Prof. Jose P. Peralta and Assoc. Prof. Sharon N. Nuñal of the Institute of Fish Processing Technology were both recently appointed as UP Scientist I. Prof. Ricardo P. Babaran of the Institute of Marine Fisheries and Oceanology was, on the other hand, reappointed as Scientist I. Their appointments are effective 2020-2022.

The UP Board of Regents (BOR) approved the appointments of Peralta, Nuñal, and Babaran to the UP Scientific Productivity System (SPS) during its 1365th meeting on November 4, 2021. The award comes with a monetary incentive that varies depending on the Scientist's rank. 

The scientists are measured based on their publications in refereed reputable journals and books, patented or peer-reviewed technological outputs, and scientific and professional standings.  The UP Scientist rank, which is valid for three years, can be retained or upgraded.

As of this writing, the CFOS has eight professors recognized as UP Scientists.  In addition to Peralta, Nuñal, and Babaran are  there are: Prof. August E. Serrano Jr. ( UP Scientist I, 2013-2015, UP Scientist III,  2016-2018 and UP Scientist II, 2019-2021); Prof. Harold M. Monteclaro (UP Scientist II, 2019-2021); Prof. Rex Ferdinand Traifalgar ( UP Scientist I, 2015-2017; UP Scientist III, 2018-2020);  Prof. Liberato V. Laureta, Jr. (UP Scientist I, 2012-2014 and 2016-2018); and Prof. Glenn D. Aguilar (UP Scientist I, 2009-2011).

Related Articles


Copyright © 2022

Information and Publications Office
1/F New Administration Building
University of the Philippines Visayas
Miagao, Iloilo 5023
Telephone Number: +63 33 315 9494